Read The Swan Book by Alexis Wright Free Online

Ebook The Swan Book by Alexis Wright read! Book Title: The Swan Book
The author of the book: Alexis Wright
Edition: Giramondo Publishing
Date of issue: November 17th 2014
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 7.37 MB
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 1282 times
Reader ratings: 6.4
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
Language: English

Read full description of the books:

The new novel by Alexis Wright, whose previous novel Carpentaria won the Miles Franklin Award and four other major prizes including the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year Award. The Swan Book is set in the future, with Aboriginals still living under the Intervention in the north, in an environment fundamentally altered by climate change. It follows the life of a mute teenager called Oblivia, the victim of gang-rape by petrol-sniffing youths, from the displaced community where she lives in a hulk, in a swamp filled with rusting boats, and thousands of black swans driven from other parts of the country, to her marriage to Warren Finch, the first Aboriginal president of Australia, and her elevation to the position of First Lady, confined to a tower in a flooded and lawless southern city. The Swan Book has all the qualities which made Wright’s previous novel, Carpentaria, a prize-winning best-seller. It offers an intimate awareness of the realities facing Aboriginal people; the wild energy and humour in her writing finds hope in the bleakest situations; and the remarkable combination of storytelling elements, drawn from myth and legend and fairy tale.

Download The Swan Book PDF The Swan Book PDF
Download The Swan Book ERUB The Swan Book PDF
Download The Swan Book DOC The Swan Book PDF
Download The Swan Book TXT The Swan Book PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook The Swan Book read Online! Alexis Wright is from the Waanji people from the highlands of the southern Gulf of Carpentaria. Her acclaimed first novel Plains of Promise was published in 1997 by University of Queensland Press and was shortlisted in the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, The Age Book of the Year, and the NSW Premier's Awards. The novel has been translated into French.

Alexis has published award-winning short stories and her other books are the anthology Take Power (Jukurrpa Books, l998), celebrating 20 years of land rights in Central Australia; and Grog War (Magabala,1997), an examination of the alcohol restrictions in Tennant Creek.

Her latest novel, Carpentaria was published by Giramondo in 2006. An epic set in the Gulf country of north-western Queensland, from where her people come, the novel tells of life in the precariously settled coastal town of Desperance. In 2007 Carpentaria won the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Australian Literature Society Gold Medal, Victorian Premier's Literary Awards, the Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction, Queensland Premier's Literary Awards, Best Fiction Book, and the Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA), Australian Literary Fiction Book of the Year.

Biographical information from the Australia Council website.

Reviews of the The Swan Book


A useful book to free yourself from negative emotions and joy.


A book that has changed and continues to change my life for the better!


I never liked the book.


Bogus! You could have done better.


There are clear drawbacks

Add a comment

Download EBOOK The Swan Book by Alexis Wright Online free

PDF: the-swan-book.pdf The Swan Book PDF
ERUB: the-swan-book.epub The Swan Book ERUB
DOC: the-swan-book.doc The Swan Book DOC
TXT: the-swan-book.txt The Swan Book TXT